Online Banking

Select Account Type


History of First Federal Savings Bank of Washington

First Federal Savings Bank was established in Washington, Indiana in 1895. The Bank’s organizational meeting was held on January 31, 1895 and its first Board of Directors included Hiram Hyatt, William Heffernan, Aikman Carnahan, Zed Benham, William A. Healy, Hamlet Allen, John M. Smith, E.A. Crosson and M.F. Burke. The original officers of the Bank included N.H. Jepson, President; Albun Horall, Vice President; T.A. Crosson, Secretary; and R.C. Davis, Treasurer.

N.H. Jepson January 1895 – December 1915
William Heffernan January 1915 – May 1935
Winton Hyatt June 1935 – March 1953
Joseph P. Sinnott April 1953 – September 1980
John W. "Bill" Vonderschmitt October 1980 – August 1990
Thomas O. Richardson September 1990 – January 2015
Anthony D. Wichman February 2015 – Present

"As Washington's only locally owned Bank, First Federal takes pride in providing all of our customers with outstanding service and personal attention. In addition, as a mutual Federal Savings Bank, we do not have stockholders, but rather we are owned by our customer depositors. Therefore, we do not have the risk of being purchased by a large out-of-town bank or bank holding company which allows us to control our own destiny. As a mutual institution, we are not a prisoner of the bottom line, so we can afford to put our customers as well as our community first. In today's increasingly complex and impersonal financial institution environment, we provide our customers with an attractive banking alternative with our unique combination of stability, innovation, advanced technology and hometown service."
- T. O. Richardson, Chairman